Computer Arts Practice – 08 Semester two reflective blogs

by telruya

Goal: Studies to develop a better ability to render humans through anatomical studies, muscle & skeletal studies and Life drawing

 

Entry 01: 25/1/2014

I started these my attempts to learn how to draw the human body with more realism with a set of anatomical studies focusing on the muscles and bones in  the Shoulder, the same for the hands yet I underestimated both the size and complexity of these and found it difficult to accurately capture them, after that I tried going from the shoulder down but got caught at the hand again.

I became frustrated with this and tried again trying to draw the hands following tutorials yet this still I struggled with them, though I pressed on with it to see trying to work through it and managed to create some semi looking hands that seem pretty good.

 

Entry 02: 31/1/2014

We went to the McManus gallery today and were set a challenge to draw a work of art and see what effect would come from it, I feel like mentioning it here as though it’s not something to submit for the course work it was an interesting experience, It was the polar opposite of last week, maybe because of what I chose, I didn’t actually try to capture it showed, It was called black ice, an inverted photograph of snow that was engraved on metal.

Unlike with the anatomy study this was so easy, I mixed around between using charcoal and Pastels where I just tried draw what I felt I saw rather than what was there, doubt I could have copied it but maybe I should ease up with the pressure and just try to draw.

 

Entry 03: 08/2/2014

I talked with Ryan today about the reflective document and I think it’s helped to focus what I want to do as before it seemed a bit vague, I need to learn the basic shapes and form to develop more, Ryan turned me onto a website that has many models in differing poses, It should be useful for practice, I decided to try one but pretty quickly it fell apart, I wrote of the figure having only drawn the basic shape of the head, torso and legs and even those only line and stick figure.

I took a moment and backed away from it, then decided to try again this time focusing on just doing the models pose as a basic stick figure to see what would happen if that was the point, and it actually looks okay, the perspective, the shape, they’re right but that’s what was wrong with the last drawing, maybe I’m letting the body get in the way of the stance of the models when I draw them.

 

Entry 04: 11/02/2014

This was a short one, while having coffee with Ellen brought out my small sketch book and began to draw her and used the Brush pen to keep the lines rough and hold off on using , I wanted to know what would happen if I threw away the rules and just drew whatever I felt like.

It was difficult as she kept moving but I found I was trying to capture detail again, It wasn’t the rough strokes that I had wanted nor the experimental efforts I supposed, I feel like this is the wrong path, No idea what to do.

 

Entry 05: 13/02/2014

Decided to ask Esther permission to draw her this time round as it would be a better chance to exercise my abilities if the person knew, I decided that I should draw her as an exercise to see how well I could draw her, While definitely better than Ellen’s drawing, I used a pencil this time, their were many flaws, The proportions of the face were of making her look a bit chubbier than she is and the hair was ill defined though later I took out my blue pencil and just tried drawing it in on top gaining a better effect than with the carbon pencil.

More studies into form and shape of facial features are needed to allow me to understand how to get them right on while drawing a person.

Entry 06: 22/02/2014

I decided to start another anatomy study focusing on the skull, Following the examples set by an anatomy book of mine I actually found this really difficult, towards the end of it I realised that I was stressing so much again because It didn’t look right, again I was trying to make the thing seem perfect rather than trying to “art” it.

I think this is where I struggle, the point between making my work recognisable and making an artistic expression, So as this let me down, I realised again I was overcomplicating it, the skulls were trying to be gestural drawings with high detail and I need to get over that.

Entry 07:26/2/2014

I managed to get into the extra curricular Life drawing class with Ryan, With some proper guidenc eIt was remarkedly easier, though again I tried to focus on geting the shape and pose right experimenting with some shading.

I feel like this has helped my confidence and lessened the stress of it a little, still though, I need to attend more of these classes to bolster my ability.

Entry 08: 27/2/2014

I sat down at a coffee house with a big window for this one, I just drew whoever walked past and tried to focus on their proportion and stance, it took a bit and experimenting with gesture drawings in which I tried to capture the general character and proportion of people rather than try to capture the details of their appearance as I tend to get focused on realistically depicting a person over creating art so that I could get into the swing of drawing what I wanted as opposed to what I thought I should.

Entry 09: 04/03/2014

I decided that because of the Complexity of the skull that first it would be an idea to capture the General shape and began breaking it down to basic shapes devoid of to much detail, the goal was to gain an understanding of the basic form that I could build upon for future drawings,I drew them out from as many different angles as I could and feel that I gained a better understanding of the basics of the head.

Entry 10: 12/03/2014

Trying to concentrate on the torso inside of Life Drawing Class, was too rigid at first but began to relax relax a bit and the form became a bit easier. the more contorted poses and perspectives are still a bit difficult but just need more practice.

Behance Critique:

Thanks for sharing Kemal – good to see some work. My first recommendation is to draw a few torso studies from some reference books to familiarize yourself with correct proportions and physical properties of skin/bone/muscle.


Once this is done apply your practice in life drawing classes, you will begin to make more connections and your work will improve.

Combined tactics!

Entry 11

Once Again at a life drawing class And feel I have improved, the line work is more certain and the Shape and tone seem clearer and better defined and even managed to get some hands drawn in, definitely an improvement., Though becoming more stressed again.

 

Entry 12

Augh, tried going into Life drawing class but had been up all night for profesional project, ended up not really being able to draw, good art is helped by a nights rest.